It is said that for some developed countries, tourism may cause some disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is to a colossal upsurge in the number of tourists around the world. There is a widespread worry that increased numbers will lead to a myriad of problems in any country. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trends, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are a number of arguments in favor of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that the growing number of tourists helps to the development of the economy of countries. In fact, not only do countries generate income from travel and tourism such as hotel, transport and entertainment, but the citizens of countries are also augmenting their knowledge. We can find overwhelming evidence in support of the fact that there is a positive correlation between influx of tourists and growth of countries' economy. Needless to say, all these merits stand any country in good stead, as far as positive factors are concerned.

However, there are some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of tourism. The primary one stems from the fact that thanks to illicit activities of foreigners, tourism can have detrimental effect on the people of developing countries. In other words, people from poor countries try to imitate culture, language and lifestyle of tourists as they think that is a right things to do. For example, there are a number of studies by various governmental bodies that show that people living in tourism places are more likely to fall prey into a vicious circle of illegal activities such as brawl, drugs and robbery. Hence, it is apparent why some people are avoiding promotion of tourism.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks the benefit of the development of tourism indeed too great to ignore.