Mass media like TV, newspaper and radio influence people, particularly young generation. Do you think it works as a pivot to shape the society? What is your opinion?

Technology is a much debated topic nowadays on its impact on people's behavior, its a widely accepted opinion that technology has had a lot of influence on the wider society some good and bad. This essay will discuss the impact of television on people especially the young generation.

Firstly, television has its advantages. The youth can learn a lot from channels such as science discovery about our planet, animals, weather and vegetation. For instance, a university in southern France made a discovery that most youth gathered their general knowledge about their surroundings and latest invention from the discovery channel on television.

In contrast, television can also have adverse effects on the young when they are exposed to illicit content such as shows that have nudity and drug use. For example a research paper from science direct revealed that 75% of juvenile delinquency is caused by exposure to wrong television viewing.

In conclusion, television has a myriad of advantages and can also have adverse effects when used overused or when wrong shows are viewed by the youth. Overall, the advantages of television outweigh the disadvantages but it is encouraged that children have adult supervision when left to watch tv so that they are not exposed to the wrong kind of entertainment.