More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Studying overseas to pursue tertiary degrees has recently become a popular trend for our young generation of students and this phenomenon is sparking a heated debate. Some argue that going abroad is unnecessary while others are convinced that it is a crucial component to education. This essay will discuss why studying overseas is beneficial to those who are in pursuit of excellence in education.

Pursuing tertiary studies in foreign and developed countries provide a wider and deeper experience for learners to fully explore and comprehend their areas of expertise. Moreover, international universities and colleges provide a variety of cultural and learning environment that is conducive to mental and social growth. According to my own experience, having travelled abroad to complete a master's degree, students who study overseas excel more in their course of studies. Thus, I believe that studying overseas is crucial to one's academic and career improvement.

In contrast, students, who lack resources and stay behind in their local universities and colleges, convince themselves that they do not need to go out of their own countries to excel. Some may argue that the expensive tuition and cost of living abroad does not justify the amount of learning and education you get in a foreign country. For example, statistical records show there are more locally trained professionals qualifying for grants and careers in the academe. This is tangible and evidence that you can succeed without studying overseas.

In conclusion, this essay discussed how studying overseas can be beneficial for students. In my opinion, although locally trained students and professionals are competent, having an experience in highly developed and foreign educational environment still provides a competitive edge in career and overall achievement.