The time people devote in job leaves very little time for personal life. How widespread is the problem. What problem will this shortage of time causes.

Even at the dawn of industrialization, the workforce has been the foundation of businesses and industries to further their visions and goals. The increasing need of these businesses are putting a heavy burden for employees to spend more time at work. While these laborers work over time, the lose valuable and precious time for their personal and family lives. This is becoming a widespread problem that is sparking a heated and complicated discussions about the topic. This essay will discuss the issues that could arise from spending an increasing number of hours working and lesser time for self and family.

Firstly, doing more overtime will cause health problems. Studies show that people who work for more than 8 hours a day are more prone to heart diseases. An example is the statistical evidence seen in a Japanese company that forced their employees to render at least 10 hours of work everyday and decrease their rest days to one every two weeks. They call this phenomenon "death by work" and it's causing a controversy not only in Japan but also in the rest of the world. Therefore, health problems and even worse, death can arise from working too much.

Secondly, spending less time for one's self and family will cause mental health problems. Because we heavily rely on our family for emotional support, spending less time with them can create mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. For example, more Korean fresh recruits are committing suicide than ever before. A study about them show that as they spend most of their time at work, employees are becoming sad, depressed, and even worse, suicidal. Thus, without sufficient time for self and family, employees suffer more with mental health issues.

In conclusion, this essay discussed how rendering more time at work can create a myriad of issues such as diseases and depression. In my opinion, governments and companies should look into how we can maintain the productivity in the workplace while allowing employees to have work and life balance.