Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

Television has become a tremendous part of human life and has sparked a heated debate on its importance. Some say that it is an integral part of society and it acts as a platform to increase communication and social awareness. Others say that its only good for companionship and leisure. This essay will discuss why the television should be treated as an essential part of society.

Because of the entertainment factor that television provides, some people believe that it only helps people as a companion to daily life. Most people who stay at home spend their time watching television so they will not grow bored of their daily life. For example, studies show that more people in senior years are spending most of their time on television than any other activity. This should convince people that television is a good companion and activity.

However, more than the entertainment and companionship it offers, television is an important part of human life as it provides a good medium to spread awareness to a bigger audience. Television provides a platform for people to learn about news and discoveries that they would not otherwise know about. A perfect example is the story about the first man landing on the moon. People may have not believed that man was able to reach and conquer the moon if the video footage was not shown on television. Thus, television provides more credible evidences and facts to life which is why it has become an integral part of society and our every day life.

In conclusion, this essay discussed about the benefits of television to entertainment and social awareness. In my opinion, television companies have the obligation to use the powers of television to promote social issues that can provide greater impact to the improvement of human life.