Nowadays, television is an essential part of our lives, as a medium to spread news and awareness, and, for some, it even acts as a companion. What is your opinion about this?

More than ever, television has emerged to be an integral part of our daily lives. It provides both entertainment and awareness to current affairs. People are divided on their opinion on the benefits we get from watching television. Some believe that it only accompanies a person to help them overcome boredom and loneliness. Others believe that it is more than just a companion, they believe that television transcends culture and social interaction. This essay will discuss how television affects our societies and individual lives.

First, television shows are a paramount source of interesting news and shows that it's a good company for people. Television shows provide different and varied stimuli to people that entices the imagination. For example, senior adults in nursing care are allowed to watch television for a few hours a day to keep them company and entertained. This is a tangible evidence that televisions can be a good company to people.

Second, television elevated the way we communicate and interact with each other by improving how we disseminate information and increase social awareness. Important current issues are investigated, discussed, and shared through this medium. For example, an increased awareness on climate change is due to television's influence to societies on responsible use of natural resources. Thus, television is a proven and tested way to communicate information with widespread importance.

In conclusion, televisions have accompanied us in our daily lives by providing us with entertainment but more importantly with current news and events. It made us connected to each other on a more individual level. In my opinion, we should continue to use the television as a medium to encourage social commitment and action on important issues.