Networking

Chevening is looking for individuals with strong professional relationship-building skills, who will engage with the Chevening community and influence and lead others in their chosen profession. Please explain how you build and maintain relationships in a professional capacity, using clear examples of how you currently do this, and outline how you hope to use these skills in the future. (minimum word count: 100 words; maximum word count: 500 words)

Leadership, in my opinion, must be well founded on proper knowledge in order to lead. I remember this one meeting at Integrated Diagnostics Holdings (IDH), where I used to work. We met to find out the reason why there are so many differences in results obtained by some of our colleagues. I spontaneity said ''procedures''. They got different results because they followed different procedures. The meeting ended with a decision to establish a new department aiming at teaching the crew the same procedures, monitoring their adhesion to those procedures, and evaluating them.

I was appointed as the head of the new department, the leader .but i realized that you cannot be a leader of something you may lack some info about it , if you lack of knowledge. and realizing that I need to come out with a solution to the abovementioned problem, I spent the following few days reading every reference included in the laboratory standard operation procedure manual and every Clinical & Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) guideline in parasitology and microbiology. In less than two weeks, my procedures scheme was ready and in use, and the problem was solved.

From that day and for every position and every step in my life looking for knowledge. This was the mean reason why I joined the 6th cycle of the International Medical Laboratory Scientist (IMLS) training program, offered by the Engineering & Science Services (ESS) at the American University in Cairo (AUC) which is one of the most prestigious institutes in Egypt.I put my own rule, if you were looking for knowledge you go for the right people , if you want to study so study at the best and if you want a life enjoy at the last and do every thing the way the heroes and leaders do.

Now I have my own laboratory at my home lovely town Mansoura ,the land of heroes and brave scientists as prof Dr Mohamed Ghoneim and prof Dr Farouk El-Baz. And here I am, standing in the middle of crossroads of great choices, hoping form the bottom of my heart to be accepted in Chevening’s scholarship program, to obtain proper learning, which will affect my whole life, my patients, and my community.