Parents should be held legally responsible for their children's act. What is your opinion?

The importance of parents' responsibility for their children, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. it can be strongly agreed upon the fact it is the parents' obligation for the actions of their children, however, there has always been some contentions about it. this essay will elaborate my opinions on the topic and thus will lead to a reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the parents should be legally responsible for their children's behaviour, but the most obvious one lies in the fact that parents are the ones that spend most of the time with their children. they should have obligation to teach the children right from wrong as it is not all the teachers' responsibility. For instance, a research published recently shows that caregivers are the most important elements in the growth of children. For this reason, the positive impact of nurturing should not be ignored.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that the parents may not fully understand their children as they only spend few hours a day together. According to recent multiple news of teenagers committing crimes such as robbery, stealing and shooting, should the parents be blamed for these crimes? As an illustration, a student shot in the school campus and killed tens of students few years ago. The families of the victims are blaming the parents because they should be responsible for the action of their son. however, personally, I do not think it is fair to just blame the parents.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of parenting is prominent, however, the parents should not held all the responsibility for the actions of their children.