As part of education, students should spend a period of time studying and living in a different country to learn language and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With globalisation in the recent years many students have gone to different countries to study. Some people believe that while studying in these countries, they should interact with the local people in order to get familiar with their culture and language. This essay will discuss why it is important to get to know local customs and values.

To begin with, knowing the local language or their values, one can improve his chances for employment after finishing the studies. Many jobs require interaction with local people, which can be difficult if there are language barriers. For example, a civil engineer needs to engage with local authorities to construct any new thing. Therefore, many jobs are impossible to get if a person is not aware of the language.

Secondly, while studying in different countries with different cultures enhances the vision of a person. The more diversity of people he experiences the more open he becomes to new ideas. For instance, one of my friends belonging to a rural area in Pakistan and pursuing his studies in Germany is now among the young innovative leaders in Germany. Clearly, engaging with the native people and adapting to their culture and requirement has made him successful in the field.

In conclusion, learning the local language or understanding their culture opens new avenues and improves vision for the students studying there. In my opinion, the best way to excel in a new country is by adapting to their value system.