Poor lifestyles have a negative impact on people’s health. List some unhealthy lifestyles and discuss what government services could help?

Today, it is impossible to deny the fact that poor lifestyles have a negative impact on people’s health, however, whether government should invest funds to provide services to improve people’s health was sparked a heated debate. Although, contested by some that people are responsible for their poor lifestyles, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, lack of exercises, irregular sleep pattern and overtime work are the major reasons impact people’s health, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, irregular sleep pattern is one of the most obvious problems which majority of students and workers are facing today, and will lead to a series of health problems, such as increase in the risk of cardiovascular diseases, psychological problems and shortened life expectancy. For instance, a research conducted by University of New South Wales on final undergraduate students explored that 62% had suffered from some sort of anxiety and constant tiredness contributed from late night sleep. Hence, government should step in and encourage students to have eight to ten hours of sleep every night.

Furthermore, lack of exercises and overtime work had both lead to impaired eyesight and overweight, which can cause long term health issues. Since majority of works required use of computers and indoor meetings, researchers had found an increased trend of short eyesight among young professionals and students. Therefore, poor work cycle and lack of exercise need to be corrected by government introducing laws on the minimum wedge and the maximum working hours, as well as building sports facilities.

In conclusion, poor lifestyles contribute to increase risk of getting sick physically and mentally. Government shall create laws to enhance people’s health and facilities which encourage a healthy lifestyle.