Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Old buildings are deemed as a landmark and as an identity for any nation, which in turn ensure growth and prosperity in some form or the other. However, some advocate the view that the government should restore old buildings by spending huge money, while others are against it. But, I partially accord with the statement.

To begin with, old architecture is considered as a masterpiece, which has made many researchers to ponder about path breaking architecture, therefore it is crucial to rebuild these old buildings on account of multifarious reasons. First and foremost, old buildings are the center of attraction for the tourists, thereby tourism promotes at a rapid pace, which in turn creates many opportunities for the local people in terms of employment, development and so on, which is the most noteworthy reason. On the top of that, old buildings are the silent story teller, which reveal various valuable information about the past events to the new generation, which is again very fruitful for the young minds in knowing the roots of their country’s culture and civilization. For instance, it has been seen that old buildings ensure prosperity and recognition for any country around the world.

However, change is the inevitable part and it should be assimilated as per the requirement of time, and hence spending of money can be proved regressive for any country owing to plethora reasons. Firstly, there are many old buildings, which are on the brink of collapse, consequently it may prove catastrophic for the people who are residing nearby those buildings. In addition, some buildings have a harsh stories, which are utterly brutal and immoral and thus, it can be a major cause of agony for a certain group of people or religion. As a result, such building should be transformed into a beautiful architecture for the people such as malls, supermarkets and many more, thereby it will be fruitful for the economy as well as for the sentiments of the people.

In conclusion, I reckon that expenditure on old buildings is quite lucrative, but it should be done in a calculative manner by keeping the new innovations into consideration.