Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Consumer goods are the inevitable part of human's life in some form or the other, which have brought more comforts and effortless lifestyle for human. However, some hold the opinions that rise in sales of goods is an outcome of the advertisement, rather than real need of society. On the whole, I partially agree with the statement.

To begin with, advertisement is an important facet in making any company successful because advertisements make people to easily gravitate towards consumer goods on account of manifold reasons. Very first, companies surge the credibility of any newly upcoming good with the help of renowned personality, whereby people find goods more reliable as well as authentic, which tempted them to buy goods. Furthermore, without any thought for a once, many people merely purchase goods by seeing their favourite person, who endorse the product, which is partly erroneous. On the top of that, various discounts and offers on goods by advertisement lure people to take the best of opportunity, as they deem it more fruitful for them. In addition, the showcase of materialistic things in society may also be the reason for the people owing to which they swiftly buy goods, which are promoted by advertisement.

On the other hand, people now want to have a more lavishful lifestyle, and this lifestyle takes requirement of huge goods into consideration. Thus, people prefer to surround themselves with more number of goods as per their requirements due to plethora reasons. First and foremost, this hectic world has compelled people to have more goods, as they want to complete every single task in a quick span and this can be, somewhat, feasible by more number of goods. In addition, there are certain goods without which people can never live such as television, computers and so on, and here advertisement does not hold any position, as these goods are required necessarily by people. For instance, it has been found in many surveys that everyone wants to have a luxurious lifestyle, and for that people buy commonly used products, irrespective of any influence of advertisement.

In conclusion, it is an unequivocal that the goods are required by everyone, and thus people should use these goods in an optimum way.