As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Thanks to the technology breakthrough in medical domain, humans are expected to live longer than ever before. Intensive debates are sparked regarding this phenomenon and its impact on both personal level and the society.

Longer life expectancy has its merit. If people were to live longer, they would acquire and accumulate more knowledge, which is a valuable resource and reserve for the society that introduce productivity uplift. For example, a human with 75-year life expectancy has a five year advantage in learning and provisioning knowledge than who only stays at this world for 70 years. In addition, further down to a micro level, for individuals, they are granted additional time that could be spent for anything. For instance, couples could save up their wages for an additional year and finally kick off a more luxurious travel, without limited by age.

Having said that, such phenomenon is not without drawbacks. Naturally human’s physical condition worsens as age develops. As a result, additional medical cost will be incurred, with resources allocated to the elderlies. At a society level, the expense could be unimaginable. As for individuals, more time will be dedicated to taking care of their parents. Once they become old and not self-sustainable, they will suffer for more year, trapped in non-functional bodies.

From my perspective, longer life expectancy would be commonly considered a good indicator of the society if people were enjoy less and contribute more. After all, the disadvantages are not unbearable and the advantages have huge potentials.

In conclusion, longer life expectancy is a double-sided sword for both individuals and the society. Not only do they benefit from additional time that can be used for entertainment and productivity, but also do they suffer from additional burden introduced. However, people should welcome such development.