‘Student should be required to stay in school until the age of eighteen.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

In this highly competetive society, if it is mandatory for students to stay on campus and prohibited to leave the school until eighteen years old is no doubt in great debate and highly controversial. There is a voice that asks the opposite, but my personal take is supportive with reasons as follows.

There has been no disagreement that education exert positive impact on students. Keeping teenagers on campus creates the perfect opportunity for students to receive essential training. For instance, in a real world scenario, students acquire knowledge in domains such as history, mathematics, physics, etc. that support them in the future either as an academic foundation for research or a practical tool set in working environment.

Apart from that, due to the unmaturity, the liabilities and the abilities of a teenager are limited. School is the natural asylum that keeps students safe from getting hurt or harming others. Take robbery as an example, it is hard to find viable and highly valued target in a school thanks to the purpose of students present on campus which is learning, not trading.

It is understandable that not to constrain the behaviour of students and let them roam freely is claimed to benefit their development. I disagree. As a matter of fact, it put safety and the ability to retrieve formal education behind, which is the direct opposition to the purpose of a school.

In conclusion, while allowing students to not participate in school before the age of eighteen brings merit to a limited extent, it on the one hand sabotages children’s safety, on the other hand impacts their future development. Therefore, I am convinced the mandate to keep students in school till they mature.