‘School should prepare students for university, rather than for work.’ How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Whether students should be trained for admissions into colleges or dealing with problems in working environment recently becomes a highly debatable topic. Two sides of the opinions are as follows.

On one side of the view, people root for preparing school children for university, in which students get highly academic teaching. Typically they are offered fancier salaries and higher positions within an enterprise than those who entered society straight from graduating from high school. However, this selection is not without its drawbacks. For instance, within 4 years, so many opportunities outside university slip through the window of a classroom, which can be easily taken advantage of, but ultimately students are restrained by their identity.

One the opposite side, people agree that it is the work that students should be prepared for. Obviously this view derived from a practical stand point. Students who chose to work early do present a significantly higher problem solving skills. Although their wages seem low at first but they can work their way up. Conversely, when facing trickier problems, people who fall into this category rely too much on existing explicit tactics and it is difficult for them to compose newer and more elegant solutions because of the absence of literal foundation.

Having said that, comparatively, students being prepared for university is still a much favourable option. Students are only late for the premier to the society but equipped with advanced knowledge that enables them to outperform those without such knowlegde.

In conclusion, I strongly support this argument. With two sides of options analysed, gains of students get trained for university rather than work overweigh loses.