As a result of tourism, many historical buildings and sites are being damaged beyond repair.

What could be done to prevent this?

There is a boom in the number of tourists visiting historical cities and sites. To facilitate the needs of tourists and promote the amenities to visiting people, historical buildings and sites across the world undergo a lot of modifications which often result in permanent damage to these valuable properties. This essay will discuss some ways to prevent the damages to buildings and sites of historical importance.

Many damaged historical tourists spots were not protected sufficiently by the responsible authorities. The local administration of many top tourists destinations is not concerned with protecting the historical constructions in their area. Proper awareness needs to be generated among the authorities about safeguarding the historical buildings and artifacts. This can be done by training and professional help.

The number of tourists traveling across various countries has increased exponentially during last ten years. People are now more and more interested in exploring old and traditional attractions which causes uncontrolled visitorship at historical sites. All countries should revisit their tourism policies to restrict the number of visitors to areas of historical importance. Moreover, Department of Archaeology and Department of Building Safety should enforce safety standards while doing any renovation at a historical building.

While it is sad that many historical attractions at major tourist spots are already damaged beyond repair, measures need to be taken to stop further damages to sites which are in good shape now. The above-mentioned suggestions can achieve this purpose.