The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree? (72)

Wildlife activism has got increased attention from 1970. Since then numerous zoos and safari parks opened at many parts of the world. This essay will discuss the wellbeing of animals in zoos.

Despite all efforts to plant more greenery and make it look more natural, it is impossible to match the life of an animal in the zoo to its life in a natural habitat like a forest. Animals can live freely only in forests, not in a fenced area. For example, the sheer amount of plastic waste that visitors leave in the zoo make it unfit for wildlife. So life in a zoo is miserable for animals.

Animals are often fed with processed food in zoo diet. This will not only leave animals underfed but also affect their natural instincts. Studies show that the average lifespan of exhibits of zoos in developed countries in ten years shorter than the animals living in forests. It is clear that zoo inhabited animals eventually lose all their immunity and die prematurely.

This essay discussed how life in a zoo is a misery for animals and how bad zoo is for the general wellbeing of animals. In conclusion, zoos are not a good option for protecting rights of animals.