It has recently been suggested that the classical, or “dead”, languages Greek and Latin should be re-introduced into the school curriculum.

Those that oppose the idea claim that the ancient languages are of no practical use and no help in getting job.

Those in favor of the idea say that education is more about training the mind than preparing for a career.

Which of these points of view do you most agree with? Support your argument, where possible, with reason and/ or examples from your own experience and observation

One of the main drawbacks in current educational system is that, it fails to nurture multilingual development skills in students. When the syllabus becomes too much focused on career aspirations, the cultural aspect of education tends to be forgotten. This essay will discuss the importance of re-introduction of traditional languages like Latin and Greek into the school curriculum.

It is often said that learning new languages is the window to understand new cultures and ethnic diversities. Especially in the case of students, ancient Greek and Latin literature can be great sources to read and understand how the old traditions differed from those in modern society. Studies show that young students, who studied legendary works in Greek and Latin mythologies excelled in multiple disciplines. This can be vital for the success of their education.

In this age of globalization, no career is isolated to a particular region. The more languages you know, the better you can perform business functions in multiple parts of the world. Introducing ancient languages in school curriculum can give students a good foundation to learn more languages in the future. This proves that introducing Greek and Latin in school syllabus can actually help in the career of students as well.

This essay discussed the benefits of learning Greek and Latin as part of the school curriculum. Students can not only just learn the languages, but also understand new cultures as well.