Should government build more roads to allow more vehicle owner or improve the network of public transport?

One of the conspicuous trends in today's world is the colossal upsurge of vehicles on the roads. It is believed that government should construct more roads to accommodate vehicles. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the opinion that improving the network of public transport is the only way to cope with the apprehension. This article will elaborate both sides and thus lead to a constructive conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons for building more roads. Some people believe that possessing one's vehicle is the inherent right and they eager more space. As an illustration, vehicles in Shanghai rose 1000 percent in last decade and roads increased five times correspondingly.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential benefits, and the most dominant ones stems from the fact that increasing roads lead to more environmental degradation. On the contrary, improving public transport can not only reduce the traffic jams during peak hours but also help to control environment quality. For example, according to ABC news, the newly train route established in Singapore reduces the traffic congestion up to 10 percent in 2016. Therefore, improving public transport plays a crucial role in solving vehicle issues.

Considering all the substantial insights outlined above, we can safely reach a conclusion that building more roads only skims the surface. Instead, strengthening transportation infrastructure is the only choice.