Some people think the purpose of education is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. Others think the purpose of education should lead to self-fulfillment. What is your opinion?

The purpose of education, which is always debatable, has now become unprecedentedly controversial. It is argued that education should emphasize on self-fulfillment. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the argument that we should focus on the preparation of the future workforce or to make good members of society by learning in universities. This article will elaborate both sides and thus lead to a constructive conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why some people insist that self-fulfillment is the target of education. And the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that education is comprehensive enough to teach students plenty of knowledge not only about practicing skills but also some soft skills. As an illustration, students will learn how to appreciate music and dance even if they will not enter the relative field in the future. Therefore, they think education can help to make themselves better in many aspects.

Nevertheless, there remains a deluge of arguments in favor of my stance. And the most preponderant ones lies in the fact that most of people rely on education to find careers. Because most of people are not rich enough to survive without sufficient working skills, and the education can not only enhance individual's ability, but also help to construct the prosperity of a country. For example, China allocate more than 5 times of tax in education than a decade ago. Therefore, education plays a crucial role in both individuals and societies which overwhelm the self-fulfillment.

Considering all the substantial insights outlined above, we can safely reach a conclusion that self-fulfillment only skims the surface of education's aim, and the preparation in being a qualified member of society cannot be ignored.