Should governments build more road to allow more vehicle owner or improve the public transport?

It is indubitable that the phenomenon of road congestion in the modern world is highly controversial with many people claiming that the government and local authorities should improve the road networks for local people. However, I firmly believe that this would cause more chaos and pollution levels and should rather improve the public transport systems. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various persuasive arguments for building road networks. Firstly, building more roads in cities and rural areas would improve the local infrastructure and boosts the economy of the nation. Secondly, availability of improved road networks and flyovers would increase the connectivity of places for local people and distance would no longer be a barrier for travel. However, this would cause more road congestions and increased pollution. Nevertheless, governments should build roads to provide faster, easier and convenient access to places.

On the other hand, people who argue in favour of public transportation balance their arguments on the detrimental effects of increased traffic congestion and peaking pollution due to an upsurge in the number of vehicles. The effective solution for this is to offer an extensive public transport system in form of metros, trains and buses with frequent timetables, better access and improved availability. This would provide the local people with a cheaper, convenient and a safe way to travel to their work and home.

In view of the arguments mentioned above, it is concluded that it is far better to have a good public transport system than to build road networks which would affect the environment badly and increase chaos for vehicle owners.