Should governments build more roads to allow more vehicles owner to improve the network of public transport

Globally, governments are facing the uphill task of improving infrastructure to the standard of present day expectations. It's a common debate to identify and substantiate if governments' take enough effort towards upgrading the living standards of their citizens. In this essay, we will elaborate more on the focus areas while coming up to a logical conclusion.

Firstly, owning a car is one of the basic requirements of an individual. Having said that, this scenario comes with certain consequences such as increase of debt for the particular individual and challenges governments are facing to upgrade the infrastructure to support rapidly growing number of vehicles. Moreover, larger cities are overpopulated with vehicles which eventually results in slow moving traffic and delay in commute. As a result, quality of life could have detrimental effect due to the time people spend on road to get from one location to another. Besides, there are more concerns of such phenomenon. To exemplify, there is considerable social and economic impact due to expenditure on fuel and time wasted on roads.

On the other hand, well known method to battle road traffic is to have a better public transportation system. Apparently, countries like Singapore and Hong Kong successfully deployed metro systems in order to transport millions of commuters on daily basis. Likewise, other major cities could deploy such transportation methods for faster transportation which results in time saving and further cost saving for each individual. Surprisingly, more and more governments across the world start to comprehend the value of family time and public transportation definitely contribute much towards that program.

In conclusion, it is quite evident that governments should focus on improving the quality of public transportation instead of spending budget on road development. Even though owning a vehicle is a basic human requirement, it might not be a good option to take with current day challenges. Advantages of public transportation clearly outweigh the benefits of having better road system.