Some organizations integrate employees in decision making process of their goods and services. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In most organization, employees are encouraged to give opinions and contribution in decision making process of company’s products and services. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of this management strategy.

Engaging employees in the decision making process creates an open organizational structure. The structure allows for a free flow of information and utilization of the staffs experience. As employees are directly in touch with customers and other stakeholders, they are more likely to come up with an instant and practical solution to any arisen problem. An open organizational structure encourages employees to contribute their opinions and improve the overall performance of the organizations.

However, this management strategy requires higher level of managers to constantly update and be very open for discussion. The strategy also requires simple organizational structure or effective communication method so that the voice of employees can be heard and applied effectively. For instance, organization with a complex hierarchy establishes certain procedures administrative processes. As the final decision has been made, it is no longer an appropriate solution.

To conclude, although a well-organized structure is required to effectively engage employees in the decision making process, getting employees involved in such process helps to improve to the final products and services.