Some people believe laws change human behavior. Do you agree with it?

Recently, the effect of law on human behavior has sparked an ongoing controversy. While some people believe that law influences how people behave, others maintain that it does not entirely affect our behaviours. This essay will discuss why law can produce changes in human behavior.

To begin with, law makes people to accept consequences of their decisions which eventually results in changing or quitting harmful behaviors because otherwise individuals would receive various sentences from paying fines to death penalty relative to perpetrated crimes. Take for example smoking in public places, once law imposed ban on smoking in public places, people stopped smoking in workplaces, restaurants, and the like. A second example is life imprisonment and death penalty against rape, which as severe disciplines, have been forcing people to respect other people's rights. Therefore, passing and enforcing laws can discourage as well as drastically decrease harmful and aggressive human behaviors.

In addition, law can develop exemplary behaviours through positive incentives. For example, in Italy, national law provides that any employee who donates blood is permitted to take one entire day off work with pay, per year. This law induces employees to make an average of one extra blood donation per year. Also, decreasing car insurance costs for careful drivers encourages safe driving behaviours. These exemplify how law can make positive changes in human behaviours through desire for rewards.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that law has numerous and varied tools in order to make changes to human behavior.