Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while other disagrees. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Good public transportation is essential in metropolitan cities for people to commute easily. There are people who believe that public transport should be free for public while others are of other view. This essay will elaborate both point of views.

On one hand, free public transport will be a huge relieve for poor people. With ease of commutation from one place to another they will have more opportunities to work and earn money without being worried of finances for travelling. For instance, maids working in residential areas in morning time can go to commercial areas in evening to earn more money with free transportation system. Hence free travelling creates more opportunities for under privileged people.

On the other hand, free public transportation system puts a huge burden on government. This burden is because public transportation has to be subsidised so that it can be free for people. This forces governments to allocate less funds for other matters. For example, in Pakistan there was a huge cut in development funds as metro of Lahore was open for public and government decided to subsidise its fare. Therefore, other people related to development were affected.

In conclusion, subsidised public transportation can provide more opportunities for people but on other side it burdens the government. In my opinion, looking at a larger picture subsidised public transportation is beneficial for common people.