Some people think that government is wasting money on art and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Art has played a vital role in the rise of the society and countires from the ancient times as, one of the writter have said that if you want to know the country you must study their art and culture first. Governments are also focusing in promoting art, however it is ongoing debate that whether larger amount of money should be invested in art or not. I opine the fact that money should be used wisely in such matters.

In ancient times, kings used to built big structures for them and for their loved ones and best example of this is 'Taj Mahal' but if we talk about today's world, there are many other important factors on which government should concentrate like education and jobs. It seen that governments are building and investing big amount of money on these things and valid example of this is staute of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, which is worth around 3000 crores. Government could have started a charity fund in the name of Vallabhbhai Patel to pay tribute to him.

Secondly, administration can start compaigns in which different artists can participate and display there talent rather than just wasting money on making big monuments, parks and other structures. Furthermore, these artists and their works can be shown all around the world, this will enhance spreading of our culture worldwide and this will also invigorate young genertaion to learn something new.

To conclude, I would like to say that art can be promoted by engaging people in the learning of art and giving them well deserved rewards, instead of making different kind of building and statue. I hope ministry will think upon this matter as soon as possible.