student's marks deduction on late submission of assignment. Agree or Disagree.

In recent times, deducting the marks awarded for late submission of the assignment has become a debatable topic. Some people argue that this is the best way to handle the students who regularly miss the deadline whereas others reject this notion saying that this might discourage the student and lead to loss of interest. In my opinion, latter argument does not require any apprehension and can be rejected out rightly. This essay will discuss the both positive and negative sides of the issue and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

There are myriad reasons that stem to the fact that reducing marks for late submission helps students but most important one is the way it instills fear in student and makes him punctual. This method of reducing marks for delayed submissions makes students to be proactive in finishing the assignments and submitting on time to secure good grades which further helps him to be more disciplined in life. For example, students understand that being punctual help them to be successful in life. It is apparent why deducting marks for late submissions is required to make students more orderly.

However, there are pitfalls that negate with this argument and opponents argue that it makes students think that assignments are for marks but not for the learning. For instance, this method of reducing marks might discourages the student thinking that marks are ultimate and leads him to opt wrong ways to complete the work instead of learning the concept. This makes a clear why it is not good to deduct marks.

In conclusion, based on above discussion, one can understand that reducing marks for delayed submissions need to be handled carefully and in my opinion it is suggested to follow it as this method helps to build good habits among the students.