Team sports are generally promoted as a great way to keep fit and build character. However, sporting events such as soccer matches are often accompanied by violence between rival supporters and other forms of antisocial behaviour. If sporting events cause antisocial behaviour, can team sports really be good for us?

Team sports are praised for promoting good health and building team spirit. However, the supporters of such sport teams lack sporting behaviour. They get involved in violent acts to support their teams leading to menace and other anti-social behaviour. Such acts are detrimental for the society as it disrupts peace and harmony in the community. Due to this, some people are raising questions on the positive impacts such sports events can have on the society. As per my opinion, though the spectator at times get involved in anti – social activities, it cannot eclipse the benefits these team sports bring about.

Team sports and events are an occasion during which, all the community members come together leaving behind their difference’s basis caste, creed, colour or for that matter gender. The only religion they worship, is sports and togetherness. This has promoted a harmonious living amongst communities. To exemplify, recently during the cricket world cup finale, many spectators were from countries different from the countries of the players on ground. It sends about a message of unity and friendship, irrespective of the country to which they belonged to.

Contact sports are also a great form of an entertainment, that promotes good health. Many children look up to the players and engage themselves in contact sports that help in their physical development. Such sport activities have also contributed towards development of inter personal skills along with good health of the people.

To conclude, the community benefits of such team sport events outweigh the concerns over the anti-social behaviour of some fans. Such notorious acts are controllable, if the players of the team they idolise promote peace and unity. As such, it is imperative to have such events to keep oneness and well-being in the community.