There is no need for newspapers in modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, we have witnessed enormous development in Internet-based information technology, these advancements have impacted almost all areas of the modern world. Mammoth innovation in internet-based applications are game changers and left a huge impact on the way we read the news. These radical changes have severely impacted the need of newspapers in the modern world. Many proponents are of the view that newspapers are of the thing of past, whereas, others have opposite views and still prefer newspaper as a medium of receiving news. In this article, I will analyze both the views before deriving appropriate agreement.

To begin with, the majority of urban populations are receiving news from the applications provided by news broadcasting agencies, due to such apps, readers can read and view instant news as per their convenience at any time and any place. For instance, I have stopped subscription of newspapers long back and receive the latest news on my smartphone right away.

On the other hand, the internet is still not accessible and expensive in many parts of the world, especially to the remote places, people here are still dependent on newspapers due to non-availability of the internet. Moreover, older generations are not educated to use smart devices and laptops, hence, they still prefer old school ways of reading new from the newspapers. For example, my grandfather does not know how to operate electronic gadgets thus reads the newspaper.

In conclusion, from the above examples it is evident that younger generations have adapted to receive the latest news on their smart devices, however, there are still certain sections of the society still prefers reading news from the newspapers. To large extent, I believe that over the period of time there will be a limited need for the newspaper in the modern world.