Life experience is better than books or formal education? Agree or disagree?

Continuous learning is one of the focuses of individuals and societies today and its causing much controversy and debate. Some say learning through books and formal education is crucial to learning. Others disagree to the notion and say that experience is sufficient and effective in learning. This essay will discuss why experience is a more effective and practical tool in learning and development.

More people nowadays are furthering their education in pursuit of greater knowledge and excellence. Moreover, these degrees and courses are becoming more unreasonably expensive. While I do recognize the merits of formal education, it should be emphasized that qualifications for most jobs can actually be deducted from hands-on learning experiences and training. In addition, these on-the-job trainings are providing much needed and relevant training to employees. For example, machine operators are benefitting tremendously from apprenticeship programs in preparing themselves to enter the workforce. They become more productive earlier than peers who were not able to get hands-on experience. Thus, experience is more effective in teaching practical learning and knowledge to students.

Nevertheless, experience-based learning is adaptive and scalable which makes it more effective in practical learning. This is something that you cannot do with formal education that follows a rigid course outline and assessments. Experiences vary depending on the needs of the organization and internships prove to be the most suitable form of education. For example, Ford Motors hire more mechanics that went through mechanic apprenticeships because of their advanced problem solving skills at the onset. This is tangible evidence that experience is useful for professional training and development.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why experience is superior over books and formal education in learning and development. Although formal education provides coverage, experience provides the depth and practical knowledge needed perform the work at various levels.