Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

The effect of smoking habits, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of using tabacco and other addiction habits has sparked controversy over the potential effect of this trend on human's health in recent years. It can be agreed that people should be free to make their own decision based on an individual's experiences and desires, but it has also some drawbacks that must be assumed and further analyzed. This essay will elaborate on the influence that the government should have over the future consequences of the legitimation of the selling of tobacco, thus lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why adults have reached the age where they are able to look after themselves, therefore choose to be a smoker, or to live apart from this unhealthy behaviour, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that that this decisions also carry the weight of an undetermined future when smoking tobacco on a daily basis can cause diseases such as cancer, hypertension, and other heart issues.

On the other hand, the government and our leaders should interfere on political legislation and taxation towards the selling of tobacco and other current legal drugs, such as in Australia, where the price of the cigarettes are higher than in any Asian or South American country, yet, people buy and make use of it. The addiction to smoking results on people willing to afford for it, even though the costs are far beyond its regular condition.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that tobacco is bad for life and should be avoided.