What roles should governments, companies, and individuals play to combat climate change?

Climate change is a burning subject of the current generation. Nowadays, newspapers are filled with calamities happening around the world. Many countries, organisations and NGOs are educating people about its impact and possible solutions to reduce the root cause of it. In this essay, I shall discuss various causes and possible solutions to curb the climate change.

To begin with, it is irrefutable to say that in the last few decades climate has been changed drastically. With the advent of technology, we are using various luxurious products which emit a significant amount of greenhouse gases in the environment like a refrigerator, air conditioner etc. Greenhouse gases impact ozone layer which helps us by stopping UV rays from the sun and maintaining earth’s temperature but excessive carbon emission around the world is resulting in drastic changes around the globe. For example, scientists have discovered a hole in the Ozone layer just above Australia. Likewise, in India, the monsoon is showing erratic behaviour from the last couple of years.

As a consequence, it is our duty to control climate change and its impacts. The government must make stringent policies to control emission of greenhouse gases. Further, the government can also add additional taxes on industries or vehicles producing carbon and other dangerous gases. A sapling of trees can also help in reducing carbon from the environment. Companies can reduce the use of paper and educate their employees to use office transport. As an individual, we can also contribute to reducing carbon emission by using public transport or car-pool wherever it is possible.

To sum up, climate change is a serious issue and government, individual and organization must do their best to combat it.