What is your opinion on deducting marks on student's work if it is late?

In this contemporary world, education is important as it teaches student the basic lessons of society and make a person capable to live in this world in an organized way. Following same practices, student's marks are deducted when they submit their work late and some people are in the favor of this practice and other are against this mark deduction practice. This topic has been profoundly debated on several forums. I will discuss both the views meticulously and give my opinion from a bird's-eye stance.

Throwing light on the first view, discipline is essential need of human life so it should be taught to all students. A student who is submitting his work after due date is disturbing the discipline of school; Furthermore, it is not just about a student work, it is about the responsibility of a student. For instance, a student whose work is submitted after date is showing that he is not punctual in his routine which leads to major problems to his forthcoming professional life.

Paradoxically, there can be many reasons that a student did not completed his work before tentative dates. A student might be facing any issue in completing his work or facing any challenge in his personal life. Moreover, there is a possibility of other unavoidable situations behind his lateness which will affect his dedication towards work negatively.

To summaries, although student lateness is a symbol of irresponsibility, teachers should understand situation completely before inclining towards a conclusion of deducting marks and evaluate their concisely.