The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College claims that the university should allocate part of its resources to build new student dormitories. The author bases its argument on the fact that the number of students enrolling at Buckingham is going to double in the next 50 years; furthermore, since the rent for off-campus housing has risen, students will more probably enroll in Buckingham if new dormitories were built. Nonetheless, the logic behind this claim is pretty unsound and the author should build its assumptions more solidly before taking any action.

Firstly, the trends on which the author bases its estimates about the college enrollment are not specified neither in their source nor in their definition. It is unclear from which survey or study does his statement come? If it is actually a survey the author is referencing to, on which data is it based? It is undeniably risky to spend part of the budget in building new dormitories from the results of one survey that spans for 50 years! In fact, enrollment would surely increase in the years, but the college could evolve in different ways over such a long time length. For example, the state might offer additional funding in a particular florid period that the college could use to upgrade its dormitories, instead of spending its own budget. Therefore, it would be much safer to first define the extent of these predictions, maybe assessing them over a shorter time span, before going on with the resolution.

Furthermore, the author also links the need for new on-campus dormitories to the rise of the apartment rent over the last years. This link is too vague to base an argument on, as it is not stated how much the rent has risen. If the shift were contained in the natural oscillations that the housing market has from time to time, then it would be of no concern to the university. This particular index should be assessed with a further analysis of the rental state that will also specify which kind of housing has risen in cost; in fact, if only the penthouses or the large, central flats have become more expensive, but the cheaper ones has remained stable, then again there would be no concern. Students, also, tend to share apartments to decrease the overall housing costs; this is another issue that should be taken into account in a further and more specific analysis that must assess if the rent increase will affect the difficulty to access the university.

Finally, the author bases its last conclusion on the claim that building new dormitories will grant more enrollments from prospective students. This is not a clear statement, inasmuch as not every student needs on-campus housing when applying to a university; maybe it already owns a familiar house or it has the economic capabilities to buy one. Thereby, before stating that, the student housing department should first assess – through a dedicated survey section during the application process – how many students tend to prefer living in the dormitories and also, more generally, what is the current state of the on-campus housing at Buckingham college and if there is something that can be upgraded without spending a large fraction of the university’s budget. The money, indeed, could be allocated to more important targets such as the research departments and laboratories.

In conclusion, before applying its intended solution, the author should perform a detailed assessment of the enrollment behavior during the years and with a much shorter time frame; it should also survey the rental status in the city and answer the core questions cited above, and it also should first assess what is the actual status of the dormitories in the campus and find maybe a more economic way to improve it, while saving part of the budget for more needing departments.