Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Have you ever been interrupted by advertising while watching your interested programs on TV? There are 2 common opinions about advertisements: some people say they benefit our life, others say they create discontentment. But we all agree that advertising have great impact on society. From my point of view, through advertising we know a lot about a country about economy, social problems, as well as spiritual and cultural life.

First of all, advertising let us know about a country’s economy. One of the most common advertisement we see nowadays are the promotion of product or services. Advertiser assure a product or service’s quality, also its benefits then by somehow persuade the customers why they should to buy it. Base on products which are advertised, we can know about the production status of a country and its international trade like import or export business. For example, when you witch on a TV, and most of advertisements you see are about selling farm products, you will know the country is developing agriculture or there is high demand of farm products there. Or, if you live in Vietnam, but too many advertisements are about China’s products, you will think Vietnam is importing them from China because they can’t produce by themselves, or Chinese prices are lower, or China is selling their products in order to compete domestic companies. Clearly, advertising tell us a lot a country’s economy.

Additionally, advertising let us know about a country’s social problems. In fact, advertising is not only used to promote the economy, but also to generate awareness among public about noticeable problems on society. They can used advertisements to aware people which product they can use and which they should say no. Images on cigarettes can be said as one of the most typical example. The images are about lung cancer, heart attack, or the sick which advise people to give up smoking. The Ministry of Health can advertise to educate people about certain diseases or danger (for instance: AIDS, TB, viral diseases…). The can also be used by the government to aware about coming natural disasters like thunderstorm, tsunami, earthquake… so that people have time to prepare and protect themselves from danger. We all can see, through advertising, we can know many news about a country’s social problem.

Furthermore, advertising let us know about a country’s spiritual and culture life. Through advertising, people inform public about their country’s unique features, and its social events like festivals, concerts or performances. For example, before visiting a new country, if visitors want to know about its historical places, what traditional dishes they should try, or which language they can speak there…they will spend time searching advertisements write about it. Or, charities can use media to advertise about the illnesses and encourage people to donations. Social organization and NGOS can use the means of advertisement for promoting their campaigns. Advertising about compassionate hearts often appear in public make us think local people in the country are nice and helpful. In the contrast, advertising about guns, violent TV episodes or alerting for the robber appear too much in a country make us think about its people are aggressive, and untrustworthy.

To sum up, advertising is one of the most important mean of communications in every country. Advertisements are not only used for distributing information, but also for us to know about what are happening in the country.