In any field of inquiry the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions

There is a conception that companies get more profits from amateurs compared to senior workers. Although, there is an exceptional case against this position, I mostly agree with it, and will explain in below paragraphs.

Experience of employees can be a crucial factor in solving problematic situations. For example, nowadays, companies instead of hiring senior workers, try to use services of consulting companies. The reason for this situation is related to the necessity of experienced specialist in the area. Companies despite paying more for consultants, still need their methods for finding logical solutions. Few years ago, British Petrol company hired only experts to prevent oil leakage to Caspian Sea, after explosion in one of its oil rigs. Thus, it is logical to assume that in exceptional times of need, where practical knowledge of years is necessary, older ones contribute to the situation more.

However, if we analyze general trend instead of exceptional case, it is possible to observe that original ideas come to light mainly thanks to novices. There is even a recent scientific research that proves, people’s brains function differently when limits or barriers are added to the question, compared to thinking freely. In experiment, one group was given only 3 main paths to solve arithmetic question, while second group did not get any tips. Contrary to expected, second group solved the equation faster and more efficiently. Such example proves that beginners have advantage over seniors, as they do not know the “rules” of the “game”. Thank to such difference, they can use creative side of their brains more easily and come up with new ideas.

Also, there is another aspect to comparison between older and younger workers. Internships who are at the beginning of their careers, have more ambition and will to prove themselves compared to specialist, who already reached their peak. Even there is a report which backs up the notion that internships work harder to secure a position, while people who already are confident in their position as a worker try to keep work-life balance and relax more. Thus, inexperienced beginner employees contribute to the company’s overall success more thanks to their “hunger” towards new career prospects.

In conclusion, although, in life-death situations lead of experienced seniors is essential and their contribution to the company is well acknowledged, generally novices can bring up better ideas due their limitless view and work harder because of their will to achieve career success.