The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist quot Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire villag

Dr. Karp believes that Dr. Field’s conclusions about children in Tertia related to their relationship and upbringing by whole village instead of their biological parents are not supported with facts. Also, Dr. Karp states that his modern interview-based research program will reveal the truth both in Tertia and other villages. Although, such observation by Dr. Karp seems logical at first glance, due to unfounded claims and inconsiderate approach to details, this position fails to be factual.

Firstly, the twenty year gap between both anthropologist’ researches should be taken into account. 20 year passing by means that Dr. Karp is actually interviewing next generation of children, instead of the same as Dr. Field did. It is plausible to assume that within 20 years social structure of the village faced changes and as result youngsters became more connected to their parents and families’ ties among each other became weaker. Thus, it is impossible to suggest that Dr. Field’s conclusions are false as there is a chance that they showed children’s views of past.

Secondly, two approaches of scientist are fully different which makes it incompatible for comparison. Interviewing someone and observing them from distance is two totally different approaches. It is possible that if Dr. Karp instead of interviewing children, simply analyzed their daily life, could have been sure about their relationship with olds who were not their biological parents. Furthermore, it is logical to expect that children would talk mostly about their biological parents as their attachment to them is stronger compared to other parents. However, it still fails to prove that those non-biological parents did not have any role in their upbringing as Dr. Karp suggests.

Lastly, even if Dr. Field’s conclusions are imperfect about Tertia’s youngsters, claiming that observation based approach is falsified as a whole is unsupported claim. It is still possible that Dr. Field simply failed to give enough attention to details and conclusions became distorted due to that reason. However, it is still not justified to object that any observation-centered research is mistaken, as errors can be simply due to researcher’s individual faults.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp’s claims are weakened due to 3 reasons: He failed to take into account 20 year gap between both research projects, he takes the results of interviews as final conclusion instead of applying observations in parallel. Also, suggesting that all observation based approaches are falsified only by analyzing single research weakens Dr.Karp’s conclusions.