Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment Within that group of people 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been we

There is a position that due to most of the roller-skating accidents involving riders without any protective gear, it can be assumed that often severe injuries could be prevented simply by wearing high-quality equipment. Although, from first glance such position might seem logical, overall this notion is flawed due to some reasons and lack of certain data, which I will explain in next paragraphs.

Firstly, it is stated that as 75 percent of people who had accidents in parking lots or streets had no protective equipment. It is logical to assume that most of the time people, who get injured by skating, are the ones who believe in their experience too much and count themselves as “experts” and thus try to do the most perennial moves. It should also be considered that such “veterans” of the sport often believe that protective gear is only essential for amateurs, as “experts” do not have any chance of having accidents. Thus, it is necessary to get the data and be sure if people who had no gear during accidents, were doing dangerous moves and counted themselves experienced in sport or not.

Secondly, it is claimed that having protective gear and reflective equipment will surely decrease the risk of severe injuries. To confirm such claim it is essential to prove that safety clothing is indeed has the possibility of protecting from severe damage. There is a chance that protective gear can only prevent surface level scratches, and it is not able to prevent from broken bones or deep wounds. Thus, data about accidents which include safety equipment should also be analyzed in order to detect the degree of damage it can protect from.

Thirdly, hospital statistics provided can simply be exaggerated or flawed. It is possible that instead of accepting the fault of doing dangerous moves, patients tried to falsify their “story” of accidents and persuade doctors that it all happened due to non-existent protective clothing in order to avoid embarrassment or even legal actions. Thus, identifying the main reason of the injury is important to get to the roots of the problem. Maybe, instead of blaming everything on gear, people should take accountability for doing dangerous moves and giving false information to doctors.

In conclusion, to decide whether the main issue of getting serious injuries is lack of safety equipment, correctness of data should be checked. Also, the degree to which such clothing can protect from must be researched through analyzing accidents which involved skaters with gear equipment. Lastly, the patients should be asked if the reason for the injury is the lack of gear or their confidence.