23 Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

There is an argument that governments should not limit the development of scientific researches in any possible field. I believe I mostly agree with such position, only with few exceptions. I will try to explain reasons why I mostly support this view in below paragraphs.

Before addressing the reasons why we should not interfere with advancements in science, I want to mention exceptional case where control over it is necessary. I believe it is logical to argue that development of mass destruction weapons was one of the main mistakes of human civilization. For example, invention of atomic bombs and hydrogen bombs could have been prevented if governments instead of boosting their researches financially by supplying scientists’ labs with dangerous amount uranium, simply restricted them. Thus, I believe scientific developments of weapons which can threaten the existence of human civilization should be restricted.

However, in most cases restricting ongoing research programs will only prolong the time to achieve set goals. For example, during seventeenth and eighteenth century, existing orthodox beliefs about our solar system and harsh criticism against astronomic scientists such as Galileo, prevented pivotal discoveries from being researched further. Thus, governmental interference proved to a barrier during this age.

Another modern example can be given regarding the issue of creating clones of certain animals. Due to moral principles, it was prohibited for scientists to continue the research in early 2000s. However, after scientific community proved the necessity of clone creation, for finding the ways of cloning human organs governmental restrictions limiting the research of the project got deleted.

In conclusion, although in case of mass destruction weapons, researches should be limited or even stopped, where there is a chance of saving a human life, or a chance to learn more about astronomy exists, governments should provide their full support.