In 2010, the Elmrose Corporation housed all of its operations and employees in one office. Since then, the company has expanded to multiple locations and has seen profits decline steadily each year. Clearly, if Elmrose wants to boost profits, it should relocate all of its operations and employees to one office.

Write a response in which you discuss the evidence that would be necessary to establish the argument’s validity. Make sure to explain how that evidence would strengthen or weaken the argument.

The author argued that since Elmrose Corporation expanded to multiple locations but has faced declining profits, Elmrose Corporation should centralize all of its operations and employees in one building. This spurious argument is flawed because it has not provided sufficient evidence to justify the claim. More evidences, such as data of past revenues of the company, the location of the new offices, and the services provided, are required to validate the claim.

The author mentioned that Elmrose Corporation placed all of its operations and employees in one office in 2010. When it did not do so the next year, profits started to fall and they continued to fall as time went by. However, the author has not provided more context and Elmrose might have been facing lowering profits well before 2010. Perhaps it tried the novel approach of housing everything in one office in an effort to reduce costs, but discovered that the efforts were futile, so it stopped the next year. The author should provide more statistics, such as the cost saved by centralizing all operations. The author should particularly provide the profits made in 2010 and compare them with those in other yeras to justify the suggestion that operations should be centralized to increase profits.

In addition, the author indicated that Elmrose Corporation expanded to multiple locations but has seen lower profits. One possible explanation might have actually been the selection of the locations. Perhaps Elmrose Corporation was an ice cream chain, but it focused on expanding its franchise in Finland and Norway, where the temperature is always cold and people rarely eat ice cream. If it had selected new locations carefully and picked locations in countries with hot and humid climates, such as Malaysia and Indonesia, it might have generated a tremendous revenue. The author should provide the locations of Elmrose Corporation to prove that a causal relatioship existed between the expansion of Elmrose Corporation and the lower profits, namely the expansion was the cause of the lower profits, not the locations themselves.

The profits of Elmrose Corporation are affected by diverse factors, including the service provided by Elmrose Corporation. Suppose that Elmrose Corporation sold sell ice cream, it would be foolish to assume that housing all of its operations and employees would increase profits. Elmrose Corporation should in fact do the opposite and expand as much as possible to broaden its reach and improve its reputation in the market. The author should provide more information regarding the service provided by Elmrose Corporation. If Elmrose Corporation is a firm that offers services that can be provided remotely, such as translation services, then demanding Elmrose Corporation to centralize its operations instead of engaging in a meaningless expansion would be more reasonable.

In conclusion, the author mentioned that Elmrose Corporation experienced lower profits since it stopped centralizing its operations and employees and started to expand. However, it has not provided more evidence to justify this claim, such as whether profits have already been reducing long before 2010, whether Elmrose Corporation has simply been making poor investment decisions regarding its expansion, and whether Elmrose Corporation is even suitable for a centralized management of operations and personnel. The author should offer more evidence to make his or her claim more cogent.