The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp argued that since the conclusions of his study contradict those of Dr. Field, the observation-centered approach employed in the study of Field is invalid. Unfortunately, Karp overlooked factors such as sampling method and time. His statement is flawed because it assumes that Field’s study represents all studies that adopted the observation-centered approach. Karp also hypothesizes, without providing any evidence, that since the conclusions of the two studies are different, Field’s study must be incorrect.

Field employed the observation-centered approach to observe children, and Field concluded from his observations that children in Tertia are reared by a village rather than by their biological parents. Karp argued that since the Field’s study made the wrong conclusion, the observation-centered approached must be invalid. However, Field’s study does not represent all the studies that have employed the observation-centered approach. If Karp can review more literature and cite other authors who have criticized the observation-centered approach, Karp would make a more cogent argument. Until then, incontruities between Karp’s study and Field’s study do not signify that Field’s research approach is invalid.

Furthermore, Karp believed that his interviews can represent the population of Tertia. However, Karp has not provided more details for his interviews. Since Karp mentioned that he interviewed residents of a group of islands, including inhabitants of Tertia, it is possible that Karp interviewed just one child in Tertia and decided that the response of that child can represent all the children in Tertia. Karp should provide more details, such as the demographic information of the respondents and the sampling method used to select resopndents for the interviews. If Karp has interviewed every single person in Tertia and arrived at a conclusion that differs from Field’s conclusion, Karp’s conclusion would be more persuasive since he actually asked every person and acquired the response from each person.

Finally, Field’s study and Karp’s study were conducted 20 years apart. Nothing remains the same forever, and child-rearing methods in Tertia might have changed over the course of 20 years. Assuming that Karp only interviewed children, Karp’s conclusion might have been applicable for contemporary children in Tertia, but not for children in Tertia in 20 years ago. Therefore, Karp’s claim that Field’s conclusions are invalid is an overstatement because it assumes that the child-rearing method in Tertia has remianed the same over the past 20 years. Karp should provide more evidence to corroborate his ideas, such as interviews with adults who also believe that children in Tertia are reared by their parents instead of by the whole village.

In conclusion, Karp indicated that since Field’s conclusions are invalid, Field’s approach, namely the observation-centered approach, is invalid. Nevertheless, Karp mistakenly believed that Field’s research can represent all studies that employed the observation-centered approach, but has not cited other authors who agree with him. In addition, Karp is certain that his discoveries are correct and those of Karp are incorrect, but Karp has not provided any evidence to support his claim nor sufficient information to prove that his own research methods are impeccable . Since Karp has not provided any evidence to support his claims, his beliefs are ultimately flawed.