The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville.

The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”

The author argued that a higher visibility of the police force in Smithville will significantly lower the crime rate. However, the author has mistakenly believed that a correlation exists between the visibility of the police force and the crime rate. In reality, police visibility might not be associated with the crime rate and reforms such as more police, more funds, and more patrols on foot might not lower the crime rate unless the author can prove that the presence of law enforcement lowers the crime rate.

The correlation between police visibility and crime rate is debatable. For example, suppose that the main form of crime in Smithville is cyber crime and the main concern of the people of Smithville is receiving scam phone calls or fraudulent mails. Increasing the police visibility in such a case would not lower the crime rate because criminals are not out on the streets. Therefore, the author must provide evidence demonstrating that a higher police visibility can reduce the crime rate to make his or her argument valid.

The author has also argued that hiring more police and providing more funds to them would increase the police visibility, thereby reduce the crime rate. However, by making this assertion, the author is assuming that more police and more funds can reduce crime. Although this statement sounds reasonable, it is not necessarily correct. If police corruption is prevalent in Smithville, then simply hiring more police or providing more funds to them would do little to resolve a high crime rate. Instead, the government should first focus on eradicating the perfidious officers who have betrayed their oath to serve and to protect the people of Smithville. Unless the police force of Smithville is free from entanglements with criminals, it cannot efficiently and effectively lower the crime rate and purge lawlessness from Smithville.

One of the changes that the city council of Smithville recommended was demanding police officers to patrol by foot instead of by car, and the author mentioned that this change can lower the crime rate because patroling by foot increases the police visibility. This argument is flawed because it assumes that having police patroling on foot would deter crime. However, if criminals have vehicles and police officers are only patroling on foot, police officers are probably more likely to lose criminals than to catch them, and criminals might commit more crime because they know that they are less likely to be caught. Requesting police officers to patrol on foot might not be the solution to a high crime rate.

In conclusion, the author stressed that changes such as recruiting more police, appropriating more funds to the police, and requiring patrols on foot would increase the police visibility, which in turn would lower the crime rate. However, other forms of crime, such as cyber crime, are not affected by police visibility. The author must provide sufficient evidence proving that a strong correlation exists between a high police visibility and a low crime rate to support his or her argument.