8. The CoffeeCart beverage and food service located in the lobby of our main office building is not earning enough in sales to cover its costs, and so the cart may discontinue operating at GBS. Given the low staff morale, as evidenced by the increase in the number of employees leaving the company, the loss of this service could present a problem, especially since the staff morale questionnaire showed widespread dissatisfaction with the snack machines.

Therefore, supervisors should remind the employees in their group to patronize the cart—after all, it was leased for their convenience so that they would not have to walk over to the cafeteria on breaks.

The author’s argument about the loss of incurred by coffee cart beverage and food services due to low staff morale is flawed. The author doesn’t mention any statistical information about the number of employees working at GBS and also uses ambiguous words in the argument like sales, cost, etc. to make a strong conclusion. The author also mentions the increase in employees leaving the company as a cause which resulted in the loss of cart whereas the poor quality of food supplied by the cart can be the cause of losses incurred by the cart.

Firstly, The author doesn’t mention any statistical information regarding the employees present in or around the premises of lobby of main office building or about the employees residing near to the cafeteria of the GBS.

Secondly, The employees leaving GBS may have resulted due to internal conflicts between employees, increase in demand for employees in market etc., may lead to resignations. These resignation from the employees, decrease in clients for GBS etc. affects the losses incurred by the cart due to cost of hire, rental and service bills imposed on the cart.

Further, as mentioned in the argument the morale questionnaire submitted by the staff is not discussed thoroughly by the author. The questionnaire presented to the employee may be a wide spread topics discussed. From the response of questionnaire about the dissatisfaction with the snacks machine may have depended on the speed of service or maintenance of machines provided by the cart. As the argument doesn’t provide any evidence about the delays caused by machines or repeated maintenance machines concluding machine’s performance as poor is inappropriate

As the author fails to address the above items , the argument is not strong or persuasive. To strengthen the argument the author must increase the statistical information presented in the argument and suggest various options available for the supervisors to increase the profits of the carts.