For the past century, an increase in the number of residential building permits issued per month in a particular region has been a reliable indicator of coming improvements to that region’s economy. If the monthly number of residential building permits issued rises consistently for a few months, the local unemployment rate almost always falls and economic production increases. This well-established connection reveals an effective method by which a regional government can end a local economic downturn: relax regulations governing all construction so that many more building permits can be issued.

In the Argument, the author introduces the increase of permits issued to residential building in the past century as a reliable indicator of economic improvements of the region. Which in turns lead to fall of unemployment in the region and therefore, concludes that the region government should relax the regulations imposed on construction activities to increase the building permits. However, this argument is flawed due to less statistical information provided in the argument about the building permits issued to the residential sector and others. Also the argument fails to address the issues raised due to increase of population in the region.

Firstly, The construction buildings are generally classified into residential, commercial and industrial sectors. Each of these sectors contribute relatively different percentage of margin to the economy of a region. The economic contribution from residential sectors is less when compared to other sectors of construction buildings. Therefore, the authors claim to increase in economy due to residential buildings is inappropriate.

Secondly, As the author claims in reduction of unemployment due to residential buildings is weak as the employment provided by the residential sector doesn’t generate enough revenue to increase economic growth .

Further, if as concluded by the author increase in issuing the permits for buildings by relaxing regulations on construction there are many chances of construction accidents, traffic management and environmental pollution are high. Which in turn effect the economy of the regions.

As the author fails to address the above issues the argument is not sound or persuasive.To strengthen the argument the author may consider the increase of residential and commercial buildings to increase the economy of the region. If the above mentioned items are included in the argument the can produce a strong conclusion.