The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership, by definition, is the act of ruling people. Some would argue that a society should focus on instilling cooperation into its young people for leadership preparation. But others would state that instilling competition among young people by the society is the best way to prepare them for leadership. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that instilling cooperation among young people is the best way to prepare them for leadership.

Those who would argue that competition among young people is crucial in preparing them for leadership may point to the fact that competition brings out the best among them. Suppose a tedious task is put forward for some group of young people to accomplish within certain period, some will be able to complete the task while some will not. Those who were able to accomplish the task within the stipulated time may see themselves as being the best or taking the lead among the rest. However, this approach is not the best as the rest of the young people, who were unable to complete the task may see themselves as incapable, hence, feel slighted in long run.

Meanwhile, instilling cooperation among young people help them to have sense of working in group which is the key to maintain leadership position irrespective of the sector. In the University, for instance, the Head of Department serves as the leader to other lecturers in the same department; Such person has to share role for other lecturers for proper functioning of the department. This is done through mutual cooperation between the leader (HOD) and the lead.

In bringing up the idea of cooperation among young people, pride might set in due to differences in mode of learning in group. However, the young people who may seem themselves as coming out well in the group can be advised further inorder to shaping their prevailing negative traits.

In conclusion, it's clear that a society should focus on instilling cooperation into its young people for leadership preparation. If anything, preparing the young one for leadership through competition only serves as contrast so we can understand what leadership really is.