The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that increased time devotion to national news and less time to weather and local news during late-night news over the past year reduces both number of viewers and advertising revenues, rendering its main conclusion that in order to attract more viewers and further reduction in advertising revenues they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news result into reduction both in number of viewers and advertising revenues. The business manager could do something as simple yet effective as consulting the town librarian to review published study to show whether a parallel exists between increased time devotion to weather and local news, and increased in number of viewers and advertising revenuew. The manager could also hire an independent research firm to determine whether a correlation exists between less time devotion to local news and increased in number of viewers and advertising revenues.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with coverage of weather and local news, but the memo fails to provide information to show that the viewers are residents of the country or not.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that some programs canceled their advertising contracts.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that increased time devotion to national news and less time to weather and local news during late-night news over the past year reduces both number of viewers and advertising revenues as such in order to attract more viewers and further reduction in advertising revenues they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.