The ancient Oppo tribe has long been thought to have hunted only with wooden spears because none of their cave paintings depict bows or arrows. Recently, however, flint arrowheads have been found among the fossilized bones of ibex, animals thought to be a staple of the Oppo tribe’s diet. Since these finds were made on land previously inhabited by the Oppo tribe, it follows that the Oppo used both spears and arrows to hunt.

The given argument states that the ancient Oppo tribe which had earlier been thought to have used only spears for their hunting as apparent from their cave paintings also used arrows as a weapon for hunting. The author attributes this conclusion to the recent finding of flint arrowheads in the fossil of Ibis which was the staple diet of the tribe. The author fallaciously derives a conclusion, from unsubstantiated evidence.

Firstly, the argument relies only on cave paintings as evidence to ascertain the tribe's use of only wooden spears for hunting. The author fails to consider other available depictions and artifacts such as sculptures, manuscripts or the presence of the hunting equipment itself which may have aided in strengthening the argument's assumption.

Secondly, the argument implicitly assumes that since the Ibis was the staple diet of the inhabitants of the Oppo tribe, the arrowhead found in the fossil of the Ibis must have belonged to the tribe. The argument fails to consider possibilities of another tribe having inhabited the area, other than the Oppo tribe, which could have hinted the Ibis. Had the argument provided grounds based on which such possibilities were eliminated, it could have been strengthened.

The given argument fails to provide the reader with details such as the period during which the tribe inhabited the area, presence of other evidence for ascertaining the equipment used by the tribe for hunting-such as artifacts, manuscripts, etc. The presence of such facts would have surely strengthened the argument.

The given argument, therefore, lacks a coherent and logical approach towards the given facts. It unassumingly derives conclusions with no strong backing. It has too many assumptions and flaws in it's reasoning to be deemed as acceptable.