Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given topic raises the controversial issue of whether scandals are useful or not, based on the premise that they focus our attention on problems while refuting the importance of the role of reformers and speakers in bringing the underlying problem to light. while scandals may hold some good regarding the fact that they bring to surface the underlying cause or aid for such scandals, nevertheless it undermines the role of reformers and speakers regarding the same. thus I generally disagree with the opinion that it is the occurrence of scandals focuses our attention to problems and would argue that while scandals do hold some merit, the role of reformers can not be neglected.

Firstly, while scandals do bring to light the various loopholes existent in a system, the hoi-polloi, in general, remain unconcerned about their occurrence, until the very scandal affects them directly, and often do less or nothing towards the eradication or correction of such problems. For example, how many of us have unequivocally voiced our opinion about a scandal or scam which may have occurred and suggested corrective measures for the same? The revelation of a scandal can be deemed as advantageous only if appropriate action is taken by the society to overturn its effects.

Secondly, reformers and speakers have taken upon the task of working towards the welfare of society by tirelessly working towards it. they voice their opinion unequivocally, thus inspiring other people to think on similar lines. For example, Mahatma Gandhi revolted against the imposition of salt tax, a tax which seemed undue and therefore a form of scandal. he posed as strong opposition to the unjust and scandalous salt tax levied on the people. he inspired people to oppose the oppressive government through the principles of non-violent intolerance. Another example can be the many whistleblowers who strive to reveal the various scams that take place. speakers also expose these scandals and also provide their insights concerning the same.

Finally, if these scandals are made known to the public, without the intervention of middlemen such as reformers and speakers, the occurrence of such unlawful acts can also cause people to think in a tangential manner. people may misconstrue certain details and may either harbor negative sentiments against a specific person or a group of people or may also concoct scandals inspired by the existing ones. The presence of reformers and speakers aids in directing the people's thought in the right direction.

In conclusion, although scandals are useful since they bring the causes of such problems to surface, one cannot undermine or neglect the importance of reformers and speakers who work towards the exposition of such wrongful acts and work towards the development of a harmonious society.