MANY IMPORTANT DISCOVERIES OR CREATIONS ARE ACCIDENTAL: IT IS USUALLY WHILE SEEKING ANSWERS TO ONE QUESTION THAT WE COME ACROSS ANSWERS TO ANOTHER

The given issue puts forth the predicament that it is usually while seeking an answer to one question that we come across the answer to another. While some may disagree with the given statement and go on to state that, it is only through thorough research and hard work, one can seek the answer to questions, others may defend the statement by citing the numerous discoveries that happened by accident.

Indeed, it is true that the greatest discoveries are often the result of research directed to solve another question. For Example, the Microwave was discovered by accident. A young scientist was experimenting with his newly acquired cathode ray tube, when he noticed that the chocolate in his pocket melted faster than usual. He later experimented with other food items like popcorn kernels. This was the advent of the building of the first microwave which weighed 340 pounds and around 6 feet tall. Now, microwaves have become a common household appliance.

The discovery of gravity, the force which keeps us all close to the earth surface, the force which can be accounted for the presence of the atmosphere on our planet, was also discovered by accident. We are all aware of the story of how the falling of a mere apple, intrigued Newton, as to why do apples after ripening fall down towards the earth's surface only. Thanks to this discovery, numerous other developments have taken place in the field of physics and mechanics.

The drug penicillin, which is a cure to the once incurable disease, malaria was also discovered accidentally. Given the amout of numerous example, one may come to undermine the importance of research and development. While it is true that these breakthrough discoveries are the outcome of accidents, one should not forget the importance of perseverance in the field of research. For instance, the Wright Brothers tirelessly worked towards building the world's first flying machine. They struggled for years before making their final flying machine, even after which continued to develop it.

In conclusion to the above discussion, I would suggest that while some of the greatest discoveries have stemmed from accidents, it would be wrong to discredit the importance of perseverance. While one should draw inspiration from such occurrences, at the same time they should tirelessly work towards their goals while simultaneously scrutinizing the outcome of their experiments, for possibilities of a parallel discovery.