WELL BEING OF A SOCIETY IS ENHANCED WHEN MANY OF ITS PEOPLE QUESTION AUTHORITY

The given topic raises the issue whether the wellbeing of a society can be enhanced when many of its people question authority. Indisputably, the involvement of masses can prove to make the system robust and fault proof, nevertheless it can also prove to be detrimental to the wellbeing and stability of the society. Thus I generally disagree with the opinion that peoples involvememt in the administration of a society can contribute towards the wefare of a society and would agree that it does more bad than good for the proper functioning of society.

The society is comprised of people with different backgrounds, viewpoints, interests, goals and opinions. When a set of rules are enforced for a society by a body in authority, they are defined keeping in mind the diversity of the people of the society as a key factor. It may occur that some factions of the society may differ in opinion with the authority. If these factions straightout question the authority and criticise their descision without understanding the underlying intention it can lead to a pandemonium without being able to arrive at a conclusion or consensus. This is can be attributed as a major reason for the disharmony within social groups. As the saying goes, "Too many cooks spoil the broth". Likewise too many people debating over a common topic can make it difficult to make a descision.

One may argue that it is only through scrutiny and thorough criticism that fault-proof, robust and efficient systems are made. And that since different people have different views about a topic, it provides a broader view of the horizon. Even so, I would still argue that this opposite view does little good. Infact too many viewpoints at times tend to obscure the mind. It also leads to chaos and confusion.

As a solution to the given predicament, so as to involve the hoi-polloi in matters of administration and give them an equal say in matters pertaining to the society, I would suggest the appointment of representatives, who can seamlessly convey the grievances and suggestions of the people of the society. This would allow the involvemememt of the masses and allow them to express their viewpoints and opinions. Aditionally, setting up suggestion boxes or online forums for discussion of matters pertinent to the society will also prove to be useful.

In conclusion to the given predicament I would suggest that while 'direct' involvement of the people of a society in voicing their opinions can prove to be detrimental to the wellbeing of a society and lead to confusion, it is advisable to appoint representatives for different factions or groups of the society for conveying the opinion of the masses. Also, the introduction of suggestion boxes and online forums can prove to aid the purpose.